This Blue Fairy’s Life

Random stuff…straight from my head to your computer.

Bad Mommy March 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — merrywether @ 5:25 pm

So I wrote my last post as my 4 1/2 year old son was playing on the desk beside me. I noticed that he was writing on a paper that I needed, so I got him a different piece and asked him not to write on the needed sheet anymore. Fine. So he wrote happily and I typed angrily (see previous post for explanation!). Suddenly he says to me, “Mom, I wrote on the paper you said not to write on”. Half amused at his honesty and half aggravated that he disobeyed, I calmly asked him to proceed to time out – aka the chair in the living room down the hall.

Tick, tick, tick…I continued typing my post and I have no idea where the time has gone, where I am, or what my name is…when I hear “huhhhhhh……sigh………” from the living room and I say, “Sweetie, what are you up to?” and my little man says “STILL waiting for you in time out, mom”.

OHHHHHH GEEEEZZ! I forgot my son in time out!!!

So I go to him, laughing, and he looks at me with utter confusion – or maybe it was the “I think the woman has gone mad” face.  He said it was rude to laugh at him for sending him to time out. I had to apologize for laughing, and then explain that I had forgotten him in time out and was laughing at myself – after telling him I was proud of him for being honest and disappointed that he disobeyed me, I took his hand and led him to the kitchen where I handed him a cookie and said “sorry ’bout that, pal”. He took the cookie and scrunched his face as he said “you’re giving me a cookie for going to time out?”.

Bad Mommy.

side note: My son punished me for leaving him in time out by making me tell this story in my blog!

 

Leave a Reply

