This Blue Fairy’s Life

Random stuff…straight from my head to your computer.

Angel Girl March 2, 2011

Filed under: Family,Life,Poetry,Writing — merrywether @ 11:15 pm

It’s my mom’s birthday today. I wrote her a poem last summer – she loved it. I thought I could do better. Of course I could draft it a thousand times and still find it’s incomplete, or somehow lacking, because let’s face it, my mom rocks. There’s no one I admire more or respect greater. So I made a revision, and I offer it here as a virtual gift to my mom, an angel on earth.

 

Angel Girl

From humble beginnings and early loss

Angel Girl lives between Hyde Street

and Eastern Avenue

raised by godparents

with father’s help

and mother’s heavenly blessing

 

Mount St. Mary’s girl,

Miss Congeniality

youthful exuberance, fun-loving.

I wish I had known you then.

Would we have been friends?

 

Angel Girl becomes Cape Cod college girl in love

dreams and plans in place,

suddenly derailed.

Soldier boy fiancé writes home with trepidation

 

Wedding called off.

Angel Girl deflated.

Returns home.

 

Old neighborhood friend tends to

wounded angel heart –

“Marry me – I’ve always loved you”.

She always knew.

 

To the priest she seeks to change the date…

 

and the groom.

 

That’s Angel Girl – pure moxie!

 

Daughter number one arrives

Shirley Temple curls and sensitive demeanor –

Angel Girl’s sweet, little one.

 

Daughter number two follows;

Angel Girl’s doppelganger

with blonde hair, skinned knees,

and love of bugs and dirt.

Mother’s moxie, revisited.

 

Angel dad moves in.

Lives long enough

to know

his granddaughters.

Passes knowing

Angel Girl

is safe,

loved,

and needed.

He can rest now.

His legacy lives in her life well-lived.

 

Daughters grow,

daughters love,

daughters make Angel Girl proud.

 

Angel Girl creates,

inspires

loves.

 

Crafty

generous

resilient

loyal

strong

 

Forty three years later,

still madly in love.

Everything          happens             for          a             reason.

 

Fruits of life

grow and divide

 

Divine grace enters

 

Three wild and wooly grandsons

sprung from daughters’ wombs,

spread brilliant, lively wings

 

and transform my Angel Girl Mother

into their Angel Girl Gram.

 

Kim Sutherland

rev 3/2/11

 

 

One Response to “Angel Girl”

  1. Deanna Says:

    Beautifully written Kim, and completely envelopes your mom. I also learned somethings about her I didn’t know, and couldn’t help the tears from flowing…..


Leave a Reply

